The DFB's major titles: Football World Cup 2014

Germany wins its fourth star

Magazine, 15.11.2022

The highlight of Jogi Löw’s career and an unforgettable 7-1 in the semi-final against hosts Brazil. 24 years after the last title, Germany can celebrate again: For the fourth time, the German national team wins the World Cup. And for the first time in South America.

World Cup 2014 

After years of rebuilding under Jogi Löw, a world-class generation of top players has emerged in Germany. Germany plays its first group game in Brazil on 16 June against heavyweight Portugal and superstar Christiano Ronaldo. An unexpectedly high 4-0 win sees 3 goals by Thomas Müller, winner of the Golden Boot four years earlier in South Africa. A 2-2 draw against Ghana and a narrow 1-0 win over Jürgen Klinsmann’s USA team follow. A rather tame end to the group games following such a spectacular start.

Nail-biter in the last 16

In the round of 16 match, Germany surprisingly has to go to extra time. A narrow 2-1 win against supposed no-hopers Algeria is not up to Germany’s normal standards and is their weakest match at this World Cup. The highlights of the quarter-final match against France are a disciplined display by Germany and a string of top-class saves by Manuel Neuer. Mats Hummels scores the only goal of the day with a header and books Germany’s place in the semi-final.

Germany’s triumph and Brazil’s downfall

This is a game nobody will forget in a hurry. It is a pleasant 22 degrees on the evening of 8 July in Belo Horizonte as the two teams with the most World Cup appearances take to the field. Highly emotional hosts, who seem to be under enormous pressure of expectation from their fans even during the national anthem, and confident Germans who calmly go about their business. What happens next leaves even proven football experts speechless. The German team scores seven times, almost every shot is a goal. Müller, Klose, Khedira, and a brace each from Kroos and Schürrle, are the goalscorers for Germany. The reaction: While people in Germany celebrate wildly in the streets, the football nation of Brazil is in mourning after this shock.

Mario Götze’s dream goal wins the title

After this impressive victory, Germany is the clear favourite in the final against Argentina. The score remains goalless in regular time despite numerous chances on both sides. In the 88th minute, Jogi Löw brings on Mario Götze. This decision pays off in the 113th minute. The forward, then with Bayern Munich, controls the ball with his chest after a cross from André Schürrle and smashes it into the goal – a technically brilliant winning goal for a perfectly united German team. There is no better way to sum up this World Cup than the comment from England's Steven Gerrard: "Argentina has Messi, Brazil has Neymar, but Germany has a team"

(Text: Martin Sulkowsky)

A strong team can achieve anything

The German national football team has won the World Cup four times – in 1954, 1974, 1990 and 2014. ERGO is an official partner of the national team and is commemorating these great triumphs in a series of articles.

Part 1 - Football World Cup 1954: “The miracle of Berne” – Triumph for all eternity

Part 2 - Football World Cup 1974: Home comforts for Beckenbauer, Müller and Co

Part 3 -  Football World Cup 1954: Coronation of football’s emperor under Rome’s night sky

Related articles

Magazine 27.10.2022

The DFB's major titles: Football World Cup 1954

On 4 July 1954, the unthinkable happens: Germany wins the football World Cup. For the first time ever, the German national team becomes world champions and sends the whole country into a wave of euphoria, bringing new strength to the nation in difficult times.

Magazine 07.11.2022

The DFB's major titles: Football World Cup 1974

Germany wins its second World Cup. Captain Franz Beckenbauer and his team lift the new World Cup trophy after a thrilling final against the Netherlands at Munich’s Olympic Stadium.

Magazine 10.11.2022

The DFB's major titles: Football World Cup 1990

8 July 1990: 16 years after his World Cup triumph as a player, Franz Beckenbauer wins the trophy again – this time as trainer. The image of the “Kaiser” wandering across the pitch alone and deep in thought while his players celebrate is beamed around the globe.